Hey everyone! Let me introduce you to the talented and lovely Chris Nelson! Enjoy 🙂 Be sure to check his music at www.chrisnelsonband.com
or if you would like to buy his music click the photo above!

BEHIND THE SCENES Interview with Chris Nelson!

ZanaD: What is the name of your act?

Chris: Chris Nelson

ZanaD: Where are you from?

Chris: Lebanon, PA

ZanaD: What type of music do you play?

Chris: Something I call dark folk. It’s got the spirit of folk, the soul of the blues, and the attitude of rock and roll with catchy tunes that stay with you long after the music’s finished.

ZanaD: What got you into doing music?

Chris: I started when I was a kid a drummer. I played in a garage band and we had a few songs learned, but I was interested in making new music.  I’d be listening to music, and a tune would just come to me. I learned how to play guitar just so I had a way to get the songs out from inside my head.

ZanaD: How old were you when you started playing/singing?

Chris: 16

ZanaD: How long have you been writing music for?

Chris: More years than I can remember. I think I started in 1978, but I didn’t seriously begin to write until about 1980. It crossed over from hobby to obsession sometime in 1984.

ZanaD: Where would your dream place be to perform at?

Chris: CBGB’s; unfortunately, they are no more. I’d want to play somewhere where there are a lot of people, but not a stadium or anything. You lose the connection with people if there are too many.

ZanaD: Describe your music in three words.

Chris:  Quirky, energetic, and fun.

ZanaD: Are you close with the people in your band?

Chris: Since I’m the only one, I’d have to say yes. However, when I was in a band, I was close with the other members.

ZanaD: What inspires you to do music?

Chris: I feel a need to make music that I can’t really define. Must be the voices in my head!

ZanaD: What’s the song you need to listen to when you’re feeling down?

Chris: It depends on what kind of a mood I’m in. I’ve been in a weird mood lately, so I’m listening to Blur’s ‘13’ CD.

ZanaD: What’s your favorite band?

Chris: I don’t think that I can narrow it down to just one. Here are my favorites:

  • Steve Miller Band
  • Blur
  • The Beatles
  • The Who
  • Led Zeppelin
  • Pink Floyd
  • Genesis
  • Clutch
  • CKY
  • The Cops (I just discovered these guys)
  • Jack Johnson

ZanaD: When is your next album coming out?

A: I’m not planning any more studio projects right now. I just released a live CD that I’ll be giving away at my shows. I’m still trying to get people interested in “Nightfall” since I spent a lot of time and energy on it. I am working with some other people on their projects, however.

ZanaD: When is your next concert?

Chris:  I’ve got a full schedule on my web site. I’m booked all the way to November.

ZanaD: Where can people go to listen to your music?

Chris: My web site: www.chrisnelsonband.com

ZanaD: Where can people go to buy your music?

Chris: My web site or direct from CD Baby at: http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/chrisnelson2

ZanaD: Where do you see your band in 5 years from now?

Chris: I hope that I’ll have enough of a following to be touring with a backup band by then. I’d also like to see a distribution deal with a label to help get the music onto shelves nationwide. Only time will tell!

ZanaD: What is your dream?

Chris: Giving a live performance from the International Space Station streaming over the Internet

ZanaD: What is your favorite food?

A: Lasagna

ZanaD: Color or black and white?

Chris: Color; but black and white has a presence all its own. That’s why some photographers like to use it.

Gracias Chris!

Adios xx

