Heyy!  I had the chance to chat with the multi talented vocalist,keyboardist and guitarist Jakey Lee and amazing drummer and backing vocalist Taylor Hight from the hit band Body or Brain.Be sure to check them out September 24th at The Red House in Walnut Creek,CA.Look out for thier next album coming soon!

ZanaD:What is the name of your band?
B:Body or Brain

ZanaD:Where are you from?
B:Napa,CA

ZanaD:What type of music do you play?
B:Fun rock and roll.

ZanaD:What is the best advice you have for people wanting to get their music out there?
B:First of all, have great music to put out.  Play anywhere you can.  Most importantly, hustle.  Learn how to take rejection, never give up.

ZanaD:What got you into doing music?
TH: My Dad is a huge music fan and a drummer himself.  I grew up around a lot of music so it just kind of happened.
JL: Michael Jackson, I just have a desire to perform, it’s in my blood.

ZanaD:How old were you when you started playing/singing?
JL: I started playing guitar at 8 years old, I started singing in the closet by myself when I was 18.  I started actually performing vocally in 2008.  I’ve always kind of played the same 3 chords on keyboard since 1999.
TH: I started playing drums when I was 13, I picked up other interments 3-4 years after that but drums has always been my main focus.

ZanaD;How long have you been writing music for?
JL: About 1999 I started writing my own music.

ZanaD:Where would your dream place be to perform at?
B:Wembley Stadium, Madison Square Garden, oh and the most important the Towne Lounge Bar in Portland, OR (we played there once to absolutely no one, and it was the best show we ever played and we want to do it again)

ZanaD:Describe your music in three words
B:Fun, honest and raw

ZanaD:Are you close with the people in your band?
B:Now we are.

ZanaD:What inspires you to do music?
B:Anything and everything. 
TH: If you love music, it’s just what you want to do.  More simply, I’d rather be playing music than doing most anything else.

ZanaD:Whats the song you need to listen to when your feeling down?
JL: “Man in the Mirror” by Michael Jackson “Closet Freak” by Cee Lo Green
TH: “Wont Back Down” by Tom Petty “You’re the Best Around” by Joe Esposito

ZanaD:Whats your favorite band?
TH: Right now, I’ve been listening to a lot of AC/DC, those guys fucking rock.  But I like a lot of stuff, old/new all styles really.  I like old school R&B and funk a lot.  “Give it to me Baby” by Rick James is my jam right now.
JL: Queen, epic 80’s hits.  Bone Thugs n Harmony, Michael Jackson all the time.  A lot more I do not feel comfortable discussing.

ZanaD:Whats your favorite song?
TH: Well I kind of said a few a mine already, but I couldn’t really pick a favorite.  My favorite cereal is Frosted Flakes.
JL: Everything John Williams and Bill Conti have ever done.

ZanaD:When is your next album coming out?
September 24th

Where can people go to buy your music?
B:Our myspace of course, the new record will be on iTunes, emusic and many other online music stores.  We are pressing the records very shortly so you can get it from us directly at shows.

ZanaD:Where do you see your band in 5 years from now?
B:Touring.

ZanaD:What is your dream?
B:To tour.

ZanaD:What is your favorite food?
JL: I don’t know…I’m still learning how to eat.
TH: Everything except mushrooms.  I just don’t like them.

B:If you could be in any place right now where would it be?
JL: Outer space.
TH: New York City

ZanaD:If you were stuck on an island what three items would you bring?

JL: Candy, a 9mm pistol, and a Hawaiian shirt.
TH: I would bring hella food that Jakey would ask me for because he brought stupid shit.  He also wouldn’t know how to use the gun.

ZanaD:If you were trapped in a room what three people would you want to be with?
JL:The 90’s group TLC
TH: the Dixie Chicks

ZanaD:What musician would you want to go on a date with and why?
JL: Tegan and Sara
TH: All of the Spice Girls

ZanaD:Whats your biggest turnoff?
JL: Drugs
TH: Fake tans

ZanaD:What do you look for in a friend?
B:We don’t have any friends.

ZanaD:Where do you want to live when your older?

TH: I would like to have a couple spots, like one in a city and one in a smaller place.  The cities maybe NYC, LA or SF.  The small place, who knows, somewhere with lots a trees where it doesn’t snow
JL: NYC, London, LA near the ocean, then sam as Taylor a suburban place with trees.

ZanaD:Whats your favorite tv show?
TH: The Wire, Deadwood, The Sopranos, LOST.  Ren and Stimpy old Nickleodeon.
JL: Clarissa Explains it All, Alex Mack, Eerie Indiana, Are You Afraid of the Dark? most of old Nickleodeon and Bobby’s World on Fox kids.

ZanaD:Whats your favorite color?
JL:Green like Peter Pan,
TH: Rainbow

Become a fan today 🙂

Myspace

Facebook

Twitter

Vote for your favorite song!

