Let me introduce you to the sexy and talented singer Matt Kelly. The musicians in the  band are  Matt Kelly of course, Jon Leganski, Sinclair Wheeler, Hannah Watson,Gabrielle Van Dril and Daniel Swanberg. Be sure to check them out! Look out for thier music coming out after October 23rd on Itunes and other awesome sites!

Behind The Scenes Interview with Matt Kelly:

ZanaD:What is the name of your band?
Matt Kelly. Thinking of a change to Em Khay for band reasons

ZanaD:Where are you from?
Matt is from…well we like to keep it a secret because no one seems to be able to hammer down his accent.  Suffice to say he’s not from Chicago originally, but that’s where we are now…sort of.

ZanaD:What type of music do you play?
Matt:Pop/Rock with a hint of sexy

ZanaD:What is the best advice you have for people wanting to get their music out there?
Matt:Start early and be aggressive. Put yourself in the best light possible.  And a little male nudity never hurt.
ZanaD:What got you into doing music?

Matt:My mom played the guitar since she was 16. I just picked it up one day when I was little and started learning
ZanaD:How old were you when you started playing/singing?
Matt:nine or ten years old

ZanaD:How long have you been writing music for?
Matt:about 10 years

ZanaD:Where would your dream place be to perform at?
Matt:Wherever people will listen. Probably Madison Square Garden

ZanaD:Describe your music in three words
Matt:Earthy subtle sexy

ZanaD:Are you close with the people in your band?
Matt:yes absolutely. I have known Jon the longest. We sort of hit it off when we met at Milikin University a while back.

ZanaD:What inspires you to do music?
Matt:Everything around me. Mainly my thoughts throughout the day. I’m not a numbers person, much more on the creative side. I think sights that I see inspire words, inspiring sentences, then inspiring stories. Meeting new people and characters is a wonderful way to be inspired

ZanaD:Whats the song you need to listen to when your feeling down?
Matt:The Finer Things, by Steve Winwood

ZanaD:Whats your favorite band?
Matt:Prince

ZanaD:Whats your favorite song?
Matt:Local Hero (Wild Theme), by Dire Straits

ZanaD:When is your next album coming out?
Matt:AT THE END OF OCTOBER!!!!

ZanaD:When is your next concert?
Matt:We will be playing a college tour this fall leading up to the album release on October 23 at Reggies in our triumphant return to Chicago

ZanaD:Where can people go to listen to your music?
 full website soon to follow

ZanaD:Where can people go to buy your music?
Matt:It will be available on iTunes and other distribution sites after Oct 23. Once we get the site set up, it will be available for purchase there as well

ZanaD:Where do you see your band in 5 years from now?
Matt:Bruges, Belgium on Christmas Eve. Playing a public acoustic show of my music, along with acoustic Christmas Carols. Who would not want to see that place?!?! (picture attached)

ZanaD:What is your dream?
Matt:Flying. I only have this dream for real, once a year. But it is incredible when I do. It is so realistic that I wake up and feel like crying that it is not true. But I would settle for happiness at some point in the future.

ZanaD:What is your favorite food?
Matt:”A REAL Philly Cheesesteak

ZanaD:If you could be in any place right now where would it be?
Matt:Home, in my basement, writing.

ZanaD:If you were stuck on an island what three items would you bring?
Matt:My lyrics book, my guitar, and “Where The Sidewalk Ends”, by Shel Silverstein.

ZanaD:If you were trapped in a room what three people would you want to be with?
Matt:George Bush, Prince, and my brother.  I don’t have the same love for all three of these people, but the entertainment value would be indescribable.

ZanaD:What musician would you want to go on a date with and why?
Matt:Lilly Allen. I love British accents and I feel like she has a ton of stories to tell. She is so blatant and in your face, I feel like I would even know myself better after having drinks with her.

ZanaD:Describe your ideal partner in three words
Matt:Understanding, Gorgeous, and Optimistic

ZanaD:Whats your biggest turnoff?
Matt:Self Indulgence. People that pay too much attention to themselves (I think) are too naive to know what is actually going on around them. They get stuck within a certain border/bubble that if they ever got out of, they would not know what to do with themselves.

ZanaD:What do you look for in a friend?
Matt:Someone who can talk about interesting subjects but listen just as much, if not more

ZanaD:Where do you want to live when your older?
Matt:Duck, NC

ZanaD:Silk or satin?
Matt:Satin

ZanaD:Beautiful or intelligent?
Matt:Intelligence is beautiful

ZanaD:Color or black and white?
Matt:B&W for sure.

Become a fan today! 🙂

Myspace

Facebook

Thanks Matt!

