Behind The Scenes With Emma Davis:

I had the fabulous opportunity of chatting with the talented and beautiful  Emma Davis all the way from London!Emma is currently living in Australia and hopes to share her music with the world. Check out her music today 🙂

Behind The Scenes With Emma Davis

ZanaD: What is the name of your band?

Emma Davis

ZanaD: Where are you from?

Emma: London. I lived there until I finished school, moved to Boston for a year to study music, and now live in Sydney.

ZanaD: What type of music do you play?

Emma: Hmm well yesterday a magazine described is as NOT fey. I had to look ‘fey’ up but apparently it means in unusally high spirits as was believed to be the state preceding death. Or more simply, doomed to die – win.

ZanaD: What is the best advice you have for people who want to break into the music industry?

Emma: I don’t think I have by any means broken into the music industry. I don’t think I would be struggling to pay my rent if that was the case. I do get to play lots of shows and meet lots of musicians though so I suppose my advice would be to try to do whatever is most true to you and nothing else.

ZanaD: How old were you when you started performing?

My earliest memory is of playing a Beatles song at a classical concert at primary school – slightly strange in retrospect.

How many years have you been writing music for?

Emma: I’ve been making up my own music since I was very little but I don’t think you could have really called it music until a lot later, maybe my teens? It was appropriately angst- filled of course.

ZanaD: Where would your dream place be to perform at?

Emma: I like performing at places that feel like they weren’t made to perform in. Like tiny cellar bars, or people’s bedrooms. I think stages and lights and whatnot ruin the magic a little, but obviously they are there for a reason so perhaps that was a silly comment.

ZanaD: What inspires you to write music?

Emma: Everything around me really. I happen to live somewhere where everyone else seems inspired to create things- it’s very infectious.

ZanaD: Whats the song you need to listen to when your feeling down?

Emma: I tend to play my guitar when I’m down. That’s probably why my songs are so bloody sad.

ZanaD: Whats your favorite band?

Emma: At the moment, Freelance Whales or Laura Veirs (not technically a band I know). I get a little obsessed with certain albums rather then bands. An album that you can listen to from start to finish over and over again is a winner for me.

ZanaD: Whats your favorite song?

Emma; I love any song that feels like a slight punch in the heart. Any song that you listen to and you can’t ever imagine the moment where it was constructed. It sounds as if is was always there, it was always a song. That’s the way that it was supposed to sound.

ZanaD:Who is your hero?

Emma: I have two and I call them mum and dad.

If you could have three wishes come true what would they be and why?

Emma:Obviously there are big world-changing wishes that I would make first. On a much smaller and more self-focused scale, to be able to travel and play music…at the same time! To be able to buy my mum and dad a nice big house.

ZanaD: When is your next album coming out?

Emma: Soon! (it may be out by the time this is published) 16th October.

ZanaD: When is your next concert?

Emma: The 16th October at the Empress Hotel,

ZanaD: Where can people go to listen to your music?

Emma:, or you can download the new single at

ZanaD: Where do you see your band in 5 years from now?

Emma: Hopefully still playing music. At the rate I’m going probably with a few more instruments and a little less money.

ZanaD:What is your dream?

Emma: To be payed to travel and play music. What could possibly be better then that.

ZanaD: If you could be in any place right now where would it be?

Emma: I’m pretty happy right here. In a cafe in Newtown with a delicious coffee and a day off.

ZanaD: If you were stuck on an island what three items would you bring?

Emma:My rusty old volkswagen beetle, my favourite pair of sneakers and my first guitar. I realise that these three things are all completely useless on a desert island but I never said I was practical.

ZanaD:If you were trapped in a room what four people would you want to be with?

Emma: My mum, dad sister and brother. We would all drive each other completely crazy but atleast I’d have that unconditional love to reason with.

ZanaD: What musician would you want to go on a date with and why?

Emma: All of the Spice Girls. I find it hard to believe that they actually exist -they’re very fictional to me. I need to be proved wrong.

ZanaD: Favorite quote?

Emma: A line from ‘Kathy’s Song’ by Simon and Garfunkel – Why do i spend my time, writing songs I can’t believe with words that tear and strain to rhyme’. This line sits in the back of my head whenever I’m writing a song.

Links:

Myspace

Bandcamp

