Behind The Scenes With Billy Simons

I had the great chance to speak with the very clever and talented Billy Simons. His songs are extremely entertaining. I definetly recommend you check him out 🙂 He also just came out with a new album coming out soon inspired by a road trip across the country. Become a fan of Billy Simons 🙂

Behind The Scenes With Billy Simons:

ZanaD:What is the name of your band?
Billy Simons

ZanaD: Where are you from?
Billy: Ludlow, MA

ZanaD: What type of music do you play?
Billy: Acoustic folk pop rock

ZanaD: What is the best advice you have for people wanting to get their music out there?
Billy: Be patient – work hard – and always remember why you do what you do. The second you lose track of that, it just becomes a frustrating job with a steady uphill terrain.

ZanaD: What got you into doing music?
Billy: My brother played classical piano growing up and going to his recitals and watching him come home with trophies always made me jealous.

ZanaD: How old were you when you started playing/singing?
Billy: 12-13

ZanaD: How long have you been writing music for?
Billy: About 8 years

ZanaD: Where would your dream place be to perform at?
Billy: It sounds trite, but Carnegie Hall would be amazing.

ZanaD: Are you close with the people in your band?
Billy: Some yes, some no. Songwriting is a very private thing for me, and many of my performances are solo acoustic. But the guys in the full band are good guys.

ZanaD: What inspires you to do music? It just feels right.
Billy: Regardless of what’s going on in or around my life, picking up a guitar makes everything better.

ZanaD: Whats the song you need to listen to when your feeling down?
Billy: Short People Got No Reason To Live by Randy Newman

ZanaD: Whats your favorite band?
Billy: Hard question, because comparing so many bands is a matter of apples and oranges… but if I had to pick one, it’d probably be Paul Simon.

ZanaD: What’s your favorite song?
Billy: I can honestly and confidently say that I don’t have one.

ZanaD: When is your next album coming out?
Billy: In a few weeks!

ZanaD: When is your next concert?
Billy: TBA
Billy: Ideally, I see it as a full time career that allows me to travel, share my songs with people around the country who want to hear them. I think it’s important to stay positive, but also not plan for overnight success – it’ll just bring you down.

ZanaD: What is your dream?
Billy:  To be a troubadour. Travel and share my music.

ZanaD: What is your favorite food?
Billy: I love grilled chicken. I could probably eat a grilled chicken salad every day, so long as a few times a year I could have a couple greek dishes my mom makes.

ZanaD: If you could be in any place right now where would it be?
Billy: I haven’t been home to see my family in about 3 months. I’ve been traveling and writing and recording… I would love to be at home with my parents and brother and sister.

ZanaD: If you were stuck on an island what three items would you bring?
Billy: I realize it’s down to life and death at this point, and an acoustic guitar doesn’t seem to be a reasonable thing to pick. But I still would. Then probably a toothbrush and a large container of water.

ZanaD: If you were trapped in a room what three people would you want to be with?
Billy: My brother, his wife, and my best friend, Nicholas. They may be the only three humans on the planet I could tolerate for an extended period of time in close quarters .

ZanaD: What musician would you want to go on a date with and why? Billy: I dated Lady Gaga for a very short time in college. So that doesn’t count. Taylor Swift is too tall and she isn’t my type… Either Rihanna or Ingrid Michaelson. Lots of variety across the spectrum, I know.

ZanaD: Describe your ideal partner in three words
Billy: Thinks. I’m. Funny.

ZanaD: Whats your biggest turnoff?
Billy: Bad health habits

ZanaD: What do you look for in a friend?
Billy: Critical opinions and trust and they better have a good sense of humor as well

ZanaD: Where do you want to live when your older?
Billy: On a large plot of land with no neighbors around. A modest home in a quiet place. Probably New England.

ZanaD: Whats your favorite tv show?
Billy: Arrested Development stole my heart a few years back… but these days 30Rock has me going. Of course nobody will ever take Seinfeld’s place.

ZanaD: What’s your favorite color?
Billy: I’ve always been a blue guy

Links:

Bandcamp

Myspace

Facebook

Twitter

