Behind The Scenes With Liz Longley



I had the incredible chance to speak with Liz Longley. Liz Longley is an incredibly talented musician. She has the voice of an angel. Her music will touch your heart.She truly has one of the best voices I have ever heard. Liz also was the grand prize winner for 2010 International Acoustic Music Awards. You need to listen to this girls music. She will absolutely blow you away. Become a fan of hers on facebook, check out her youtube videos, go to her concerts and most importantly become a fan!Introducing the extremely talented and beautiful Liz Longley!

 

Behind The Scenes With Liz Longley:

ZanaD: What is the name of your band?

 

Liz Longley

 

ZanaD: Where are you from?

 

Liz:  Downingtown, PA

 

ZanaD: What type of music do you play?

 

Liz: Acoustic Pop/Folk  – with hints of blues, jazz and country

 

ZanaD: What is the best advice you have for people who want to break

into the music industry?

 

Liz: Just be yourself and write music that is true to who you are. … And then of course play shows as much as possible.

 

ZanaD: How old were you when you started performing?

 

Liz: 15

 

ZanaD: How many years have you been writing music for?

 

Liz: 8 years!  Ah!  That’s hard to believe!

 

ZanaD: Where would your dream place be to perform at?

 

Liz: I would love to one day go back to my college, Berklee College of Music in Boston, and play to a full house at the beautiful Berklee Performance Center.  The students and teachers at Berklee have become my great big family.  I am so grateful for all they’ve taught me and to play there again would be so special.

 

ZanaD: What inspires you to write music?

 

Liz: I often write to heal from my life experiences.  It’s very important to me that I connect with people and I’ve found the best way to do that is to share my life stories… as hard as that was at first.  The best part is in return, listeners often feel comfortable sharing their incredibly touching personal stories.  I’m honored to have that kind of relationship with a lot of my fans.

 

ZanaD: Whats the song you need to listen to when your feeling down?

 

Liz: I don’t have a particular song that I listen to when I’m down but listening to Bon Iver’s album “For Emma, Forever Ago” makes everything better all the time. 🙂

 

ZanaD: What’s your favorite band?

 

Liz: Right now I love Phoenix!!  Their new record is amazing.

 

ZanaD: Whats your favorite song?  My favorite song… well that is impossible because I have a bazillion favorite songs.  BUT at this very moment my favorite song is “Brighter than Sunshine” by Aqualung.

 

Liz: Who is your hero?  I have a few musical heros… Paula Cole, Joni Mitchell, Paul Simon and The Weepies.

 

ZanaD: When is your next album coming out?

 

Liz: I just released my 3rd album “Hot Loose Wire”…  Haven’t started thinking beyond that yet! 🙂

 

ZanaD: When is your next concert?

 

Liz: Nov 7th – I’m opening for the lovely Mindy Smith at Tupelo Music Hall in White River Junction, VT!

 

ZanaD: Where do you see your band in 5 years from now?

 

Liz: Hopefully just playing a bunch of shows on the road… With more states, more countries, more stories and more songs under my belt.

 

ZanaD: What is your dream?

 

Liz: To touch people with heartfelt music.

 

ZanaD: If you could be in any place right now where would it be?

 

Liz: In my NYC apartment with my guitar in my hands.

 

ZanaD: If you were stuck on an island what three items would you bring?

 

Liz: Guitar, iPad and mouthwash.

 

ZanaD: If you were trapped in a room what three people would you want to be with?

 

Liz: My mom, my best friend and … Taylor Swift.  ha!  That’d be interesting.

 

ZanaD: What musician would you want to go on a date with and why?

 

Liz: Ryan Adams … in hopes to get a private concert.

 

Thanks Liz!

Links:

Myspace

Facebook

Youtube

Liz Longleys Official Website