Will Knox

Will Knox is a fantastic alternative/folk singer all the way from London!  His sexy voice will sooth your soul. His beautiful lyrics will get to your heart You will find yourself singing along easily to his sweet melodies..Be sure to check out his music today 🙂

Behind The Scenes With Will Knox

 

Q:Where are you from?

A:I grew up in London, moved to Boston at 18, and have lived in New York for the last 3 years.

 

Q: What type of music do you play?

A: I’d say alternative/folk. It’s somewhere around the Nick Drake/Richard Thompson/Elliott Smith genre.

 

Q: What is the best advice you have for people who want to break into the music industry?

A: Love the music, forget the industry. The music business is still figuring out how to be a business at the moment. If you love the music, you’ll be fine.

 

Q: How old were you when you started performing?

A: I was in a couple of rock bands when I was 15/16 (one of them was with Emma Davis as it happens). I didn’t get in to gigging regularly until I was about 18 when I got more in to acoustic music and moved to Boston.

 

Q: How many years have you been writing music for?

A:I started playing guitar at 14 and never really felt like I practiced, but I spent a lot of time making up little compositions & improvising. That led in to songwriting when I started playing in my high school bands.

 

Q: Where would your dream place be to perform at?

A: I’d love to play the Hammersmith Apollo – it was my local venue growing up, I always dreamed of playing there one day.

 

Q: What inspires you to write music?

A: Anything abnormal, but more often than not it’s listening to other people’s music.. Watching, hearing or seeing someone else’s creativity is always inspiring.

 

Q: What is the song you need to listen to when your feeling down?

A:  Basement Jaxx – Do Your Thing. Try not to smile..I dare you. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_n1FHX3mBw)

 

Q: Whats your favorite band?

A:Nick Drake, though Radiohead is in the running.

 

Q: What is your favorite song?

A:It changes daily, but if you played ‘River Man’ by Nick Drake on loop we’d be friends.

 

Q: If you could have three wishes come true what would they be and why?

A: 1. I wish healthcare was free, for so many reasons.

2. I wish there was a really short footbridge between London & New York, I hate flying.

3. I wish snow was a neutral temperature – winter’s coming up, I’m not too happy about it.

 

Q: When is your next album coming out?

A: We’re releasing a 5 track EP in January 2011. It’s coming with lots of fun surprises attached, please sign the mailing list if you’d like a reminder (http://www.willknox.com).

 

Q: When is your next concert?

A: Rockwood Music Hall in NYC, December 17th. It’s part of the ‘Cold as Elf Tour’ with Jim Hanft & Jake Hill.

 

Q: Where do you see your band in 5 years from now?

A:Rehab.

 

Q: What is your dream?

A:To be happy most of the time.

 

Q: If you could be in any place right now where would it be?

A really old fishing village on the south coast of Devon, England. It’s a little place by the sea I’ve been going to since I was born.

 

Q: If you were stuck on an island what three items would you bring?

A case of Jameson, an ice machine, and a glass.

 

Q: If you were trapped in a room what three people would you want to be with?

A: Ozzy Osbourne, Edgar Allan Poe & Halle Berry. Could be an interesting reality show.

 

Q: What musician would you want to go on a date with and why?

A: Bjork – because you know it would be an interesting date.

 

Q: Favorite quote?

A:When life gives you lemons, ask for tequila and salt.

 

Links:

Official Website

Myspace

Facebook

Twitter

Youtube