David Berkeley

David Berkley’s music will warm your heart. If you like beautiful voices with acoustic guitar you will love his music. Check him out!

Behind The Scenes With David Berkley:

Q: Where are you from?

A: Born in New Jersey. Lived in Brooklyn for a long time and Atlanta and Corsica and now live in the Bay Area.

 

Q: What type of music do you play?

A: I try to play pretty music. Stuff that draws you in, makes you listen and think. Maybe you could call it indie-folk?

 

Q: What is the best advice you have for people who want to break into the music industry?

A:If you want to be on the biz side of the industry, I’m not sure what I’d tell you. Maybe I’d suggest you try to sell bridges instead. If you want to be a professional musician, I’d maybe suggest you remember that for every hour you’re on stage, there’s 23 that you aren’t. But if you’re committed, I’d say start local. Build a dedicated and hungry fan base where you live. Surround yourself with people who you want to be surrounded by. Stay true to whatever passion led you down the road in the first place.

 

Q: How old were you when you started performing?

A: I was singing on stage when I was about 4. But I didn’t start performing my music until my mid 20s.

 

Q: How many years have you been writing music for?

A: 10, give or take a couple.

 

Q: Where would your dream place be to perform at?

A: I used to say Red Rocks. But then I discovered a Berkeley Castle in England that I think would be a pretty appropriate one.

 

Q: What inspires you to write music?

A:Traveling, storms, literature, my girl.

 

Q: What’s the song you need to listen to when your feeling down?

A: There isn’t one. But to play, how about The Shining by Badly Drawn Boy.

 

Q: What’s your favorite band?

A: Depends on the day. But I’ve been pretty fond of Wilco for a while.

 

Q: What’s your favorite song?

A: I never get tired of American Tune by Paul Simon. Hold On by Tom Waits kills me. I like Lucinda Williams’ Jackson, for personal reasons.

 

Q: Who is your hero?

A: Tom Waits, now that he’s on my brain.

 

Q:If you could have three wishes come true what would they be and why?

A: One wish would be that the question only asked for 2 wishes. And the other would be to have two of me so that I could tour without leaving my kids.

 

Q: When is your next album coming out?

A: January 25th, 2011

 

Q: When is your next concert?

A: Dec 10 at the Starry Plough in Berkeley. Or if after that date: January 25th at Rockwood Stage II.

 

Q: Where do you see your band in 5 years from now?

A: Playing Berkeley Castle

 

Q: What is your dream?

A: Maybe that second wish from above.

 

Q: If you could be in any place right now where would it be?

A: Hell, for continuity sake, Berkeley Castle.

 

Q: If you were stuck on an island what three items would you bring?

A: A high speed motor boat loaded with a huge full tank of gas, some kind of big harpoon to fish with and a massive jug of water.

 

Q: If you were trapped in a room what three people would you want to be with?

A: Billy Collins, Tom Waits and my wife.

 

Q: What musician would you want to go on a date with and why?

A: Neil Young. There wouldn’t be any worry of cheating on my wife. And who wouldn’t want to roll out with Neil?

 

Q: Favorite quote?

A:“There’s no you in I” –overheard that last night as a girl was breaking up with a guy. It was really hard not to laugh.

Links:

Official Website

Myspace

Facebook