Katie DiCicco

Katie is a talented up and coming pop/dance/electro singer from NYC. She won the ‘ Best Vocal Performance” at the New York City International FIlm Festival and performed at the Closing Awards Ceremony! Her sexy tunes will get you dancing and turn you onto her music. Check out her sexy music videos(links posted below). Katie is becoming a pop sensation! Become a fan of  today!

Q: What is the name of your band?

A: I’m a solo artist.

Q: Where are you from?

A: From NYC, but have been bicoastal my entire life (NYC-LA).

Q: What type of music do you play?

A:Electro/Dance/Pop

Q: What is the best advice you have for people who want to break into the music industry?

A: Be persistent and collaborate with as many producers and artists as possible. You never know where random projects will lead you. Also, you have to make music your “Plan-A”.

Q: How old were you when you started performing?

A: All my life! My dad, Bobby DiCicco, was kind of a big deal actor in the 70s in movies directed by Steven Spielberg, and my sister, Jessica DiCicco, is an Emmy –nominated actress, so I guess performing is part of my DNA.

I took dance when I was a baby, and I started performing when I was very young… probably 4 or something. I would perform any chance I had: At school, with family, in public restrooms (when alone) and definitely in my room in front of the mirror—definitely.

Q: How many years have you been writing music for?

A: My third grade teacher told me that I would be a writer, because I could never put my pencil down during “free-write”.  I started writing poetry and songs when I was about 9. But it wasn’t until I was around 14 when I actually took my songwriting seriously. When I was 18, I started writing for Yeah Music Productions—a writing camp started by Bad Boy’s John Eaton—and my songs were shopped around to established artists like Janet Jackson, B2K and Brandy.

Q: Where would your dream place be to perform at?

A: Other than the staples like MSG, I would say at the Grammy’s! But I think it would be really cool to perform for the soldiers overseas. I love the feeling of giving back. And since I’ve received some fan mail from soldiers requesting that I perform out there, I’d really like to make that happen one day.

Q: What inspires you to write music?

A: Literally everything and everyone inspires me. Seriously. I wrote an entire song about fishnet stockings. A lot of people say they are most inspired when they are sad and angry, but I write when I’m happy, too. The best part about writing songs is capturing a certain mood and emotion and turning it into melody, lyrics, and harmonies—Very therapeutic.

Q: What’s the song you need to listen to when you’re feeling down?

A: Maybe Coldplay?

Q: What’s your favorite band?

A: I don’t think anyone likes this question, because everyone has more than one favorite band. I used to listen to Hole and Nirvana all of the time. Recently, I’ve been listening to Reggie Watts, Muse, Broken Bells and Das Racist.

Q: What’s your favorite song?

A: Again, this in an unfair question.  Hmmmm… “Use Me Up” –Bill Withers, “Homme”–Brazilian Girls, and every song that I’ve said, “OMG, I love this song!” , while intoxicated at a bar.q

Q: Who is your hero?

A: Anyone who has overcome severe tragedy and pain and is still optimistic. Oh, and Celebrity Food Chef Giada de Laurentis, because she’s an amazing cook and has managed to keep her figure. She’s not even French!

Q: If you could have three wishes come true what would they be and why?

A: This response may sound Ms. America-eske, but: 1) World Peace; 2) World Hunger; 3) Incarcerate all politicians, except for the Tea Party, of course.

Q: When is your next album coming out?

A: My album is still in the works (thinking summer 2011). But my next single, “Justify Sex” (follow up to “Chica Bomb” with Dan Balan), was just released in five countries, and the music video is b-a-n-a-n-a-s!

Q: When is your next concert?

A: I perform shows that sometimes just come up, so I never know for sure. But I will be performing at Ella Lounge, NYC with Kinetics & One Love (doing their original version of “Airplanes” by B.O.B) and the Bitter End in November. Also, at Holiday Blues: Musical Charity Showcase in December (dates and times will be listed on my site: http://www.myspace.com/katiedicicco.

Q: Where do you see your band in 5 years from now?

A: I see my music career blossoming into a beautiful flower that never wilts.

Q: What is your dream?

A: To make all my dreams realities. That, and to workout every day with Gaby Boterashvili of Infinity Body. He’s the best trainer I’ve ever had!

Q: If you could be in any place right now where would it be?

A: I’m already here: NYC, baby! Fall is the best season ever to be in New York.

Q: If you were stuck on an island what three items would you bring?

A: My pad and my pen, and Xante—cognac based pear liqueur. It’s delish.

Q: If you were trapped in a room what three people would you want to be with?

A: Ellen DeGenerous, Plato and Fabio. One needs to laugh, be intellectually stimulated and have some “eye candy”.

Q: What musician would you want to go on a date with and why?

A: Slash. Enough said.

Q: Favorite quote?

A: “A photograph is a secret about a secret. The more it tells you, the less you know.” –Diane Arbus

Links:

Katies Offical Website

Myspace

Facebook

Itunes

Justify Sex Music Video

Chica Bomb Music Video